Wonder Like A Child


IMG_9280ws

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom the emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand wrapped in awe, is as good as dead —his eyes are closed. ― Albert EinsteinLiving Philosophies

I usually wonder and think about things a lot!   At a very tender age I questioned the very existence of life.  What is the purpose of life?  Why do we have to exist? Why do we have to feel hunger and eat tasteless food?  Why is life so tough and miserable!?  Those questions which shouldn’t be in the child‘s mind, when all she should be thinking is her dolls and other playthings.   I can’t help but ask questions   as I can saw the contrast of our lives to those of others.

We were very poor but we were raised with dignity and pride… my father especially!   My father was a cop, a very honest and good devoted Christian cop.  He is a very humorous man, a man of many stories to tell.  My mom is a jack of all trade generally.   She is a quite type of a person and very sensitive.  Both my parents have made me a very different and unique individual and I couldn’t ask God for more.  They’re not perfect but I have no complaints about them, they’re the perfect ingredients to make me who I am today.

Since, I was a little girl I like to hear stories that is something beyond my imagination.  My mother and my sister Lyvia loved to tell me stories and some of them they just fabricated to satisfy my endless craving for stories.

Even some of the stories have been repeated many times; I still like to hear all over again and ask the same question endlessly.  I think because of our family’s poverty we never had books or television to help me visualize things and help fuel my imagination.

In our family farm, I used to lay down in the field and day dream about clouds and heaven.  When I lay on the grass, I thought of insects feeling the grass and imagined how it felt to be like them.  No wonder when my husband bought me a camera; I was immediately drawn to it.  At the beginning it was just to collect images for paintings subjects but then I ended up taking pictures seriously.  I visited places that I had visited as a child…the magical places that were in front of my eyes.   Those places are places where I can still be forever young!

***I’ll show some of my botanical paintings next time!

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love that your father was a good cop. =) I seriously wish I had your magic eye. Thank you for the follow, Janet. Happy new year.

    Diana

    Like

  2. Hi Janet, thanks for introducing yourself by following our site. So glad to meet another lover of nature – we look forward to exploring yours as well! If you happen to be on facebook we invite you to visit the RAXA Collective page. See you there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

