Pansy Dreams, Watercolor Painting


twitterbg

I was supposed to share today some of my botanical paintings but I guess I need to share you this work first. It’s watercolor on hot pressed paper.  I painted first all the details as the first plan is to paint it in botanical style but it looked so plain and boring.  I think I’m bored with realism because I can absolutely predict the outcome.  When I just started to learn I got excited to think what would be the outcome and if I can finish the piece.  No doubt, realism is one of the most difficult things to do especially portraits.  I started my career as a portrait artist for a short while but soon realized it wasn’t for me.  I wanted freedom of expressions!  As a commissioned artist you follow what they want like removing moles, trimming eyebrow, so on and so forth.  One time I was commissioned for someone that it made me so annoyed that I painted an angry version of the portrait.

“Every portrait that is painted with feeling is a portrait of the artist, not of the sitter.”  ~Oscar Wilde

Now I’m looking for something that would excite me with realism still present in my work.  As an artist and creator we should have that freedom to meet our curiosity and imagination.  I decided to do something with this piece and have some fun and take risks.  I think if it doesn’t work out then so be it!  I’ll start all over again and learned my lessons.  What matters is I learned something.

I’m very happy with the result and I’ll continue on experimenting.  So far, I’m enjoying with my experiment and it’s very me – “Panchoism” as I called it.  It is not trying to copy somebody but my own expression of my soul.

I tell you something about me and it’s no longer a secret.  I can’t remember names of colors!

Till next time! I’ll show some aerial photography tomorrow if I’m well of course.  Have a great day or night everyone!

About the post

Blog, Fine Art

Leave a Reply

