Happy Faces, watercolor painting


IMG_7319 copy copy

An artist is always alone – if he is an artist. No, what the artist needs is loneliness. ~Henry Miller

Being a self taught artist is admirable but it is really, really difficult.  There are so many unknown things to know, from gathering your materials, how to start, how to market and how to present yourself.  My head is spinning in figuring many things I don’t know.  I’m trying my best solving everything and it’s really quite lonely.  I feel like I’m a table with one foot and struggling to stand up.

So many artists  were very lucky to be surrounded with people who showed them how to go about in their profession, help them when they din’t understand the intricacies of art and encouraged them when they’re down and out.  I realized that I din’t have many of those kind of people around me.  But I’m just lucky to have an ever supportive husband and daughter, who are always there to help and support me with ideas and critique my work. .

Then, I thought I haven’t socialized for a long time and not because I am anti social but I wanted to concentrate on my work and family. When I’m on my own, I can concentrate on my work, I can discover and experiment with my art and though on my own in the eyes of many, I am really very happy of concentrating on my paintings and experimenting with new medium and forms.  An old friend called me a nerd.  It made me smile because some of my friends would laugh at the idea of me been a nerd.. In reality I am a a peoples person, a very social one,  who loves to talk and laugh out loud with friends, family and even strangers.  But then, what my friend said would have a grain of truth to what I am at the moment . Yes, I am very immersed in my work and have become to many of my friends anti social!  No wonder,

And my New Year resolution would include socializing and taking care of my health. In 2015 I’m going to do more exercise, self care and use my make up kit quite often.  My husband brought me a lot of beauty products that I have never touched. because I wrongly thought they were a waste of time.  Believe me, I even timed how long it takes to groom myself and it’s more than an hour!  In an hour I can do so many things with my paintings, oh well there i go again. A very Happy New Year to all of you out there.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is so pretty! I love the colors!
    Keep up the great work! 🙂
    Best Wishes,
    Isabella

    Like

  2. Happy New Year, Janet. This painting is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

