I’m Wishing, Watercolor Painting


IMG_4869ws

“To create one’s own world takes courage.” Georgia O’Keeffe

This painting took me the whole year to finish, not continuously but it gave me a lot of challenges to finish this project.  I started this when I was still battling with an artist block and forced myself to create something.  I had different ideas at the beginning but was very disappointed when it didn’t turn out the way I wanted.  I cried and was very angry to myself that I wanted to destroy this piece.  I thought I pushed myself so hard and painting a large piece in a small studio wasn’t easy.  Knowing I have spent a lot of bucks on many failed experiments already, I refrained from destroying it. Whenever I’m in the good mood I check it out but after months and months, I couldn’t find any inspiration to finish this not until this month.

I saw something that interested me in the background… as I’m tracing with my eyes, I saw a naked woman, with golden hair facing the dandelion. And voila my adrenalin starts pumping again all over my senses and I’m ready to finish this piece. I titled it “I’m Wishing” as the paintings reflects of me of many wishes and dreams that I only kept secretly in my silent prayers.  I think, I’m ready to believe in my wishes and dreams now.  I’m ready to trust myself and I know how powerful belief works…it become a reality.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I like it! I struggle with finishing difficult subjects too and procrastinate to the ^10!

    Like

  2. This is a great painting Janet and good for you for not giving up on your dream. True creativity and inspiration happens when it happens which I know is a wonderful feeling :). I have many pieces of art that I create that are just not quite right, don’t come together the way I am feeling it. So I always save them in a Work in Progress file (I am a Photographic Artist) and perhaps months later will realize what’s missing or what it will take to make it something I would put in my gallery. Keep on painting……you’re a natural.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do have a lot Pennie, some I destroyed instantly without warning 😀 and some I kept for the same reason as you said. But most reasons why I can’t finish a work when it drag so much time because I’m doing something else more important and I somehow lost interests so I started a new piece, yet again! Thank you for the wonderful comments and visiting my site Pennie! Really appreciate it! 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, I love your art and photography – stunning, and such rich vibrant colours!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

