Finding Inner Space


IMG_7171BWws

In five more days and I’ll be having my first solo photography exhibition in Culture Club Gallery, 15th Elgin Street, Soho, Hong Kong.  Finding Inner Space is the theme that I have chosen for my exhibition.  It is about my daily life as a woman who paints, a full time housewife and mother who has found solace in photography.  I’ve been photographing since I started painting but I became serious with the medium when I encountered painters block a few years ago.  I was determined to bring it back and so I turned to my camera unknowingly being captivated by the creative spirit of photography.

It brought back my interest in painting and realized that it was a crucial crossroad in finding my own self, style, and identity.  I was liberated and began painting with my own expression of pure joy and happiness and for that I am thankfully booked for a solo exhibition in October for my paintings.

Finding Inner Space is about finding the few moments alone to collect my thoughts and ideas. Some of the images I took were during grocery shopping, dog walks, and whenever I have free time to go for long walks to discover new places.  My new discovered places  would be tunnels, under flyovers, bridges, wet markets, and other ordinary and forsaken places.

IMG_6850ws

Photography for me is the missing puzzle in my creativity that I’ve been looking for so long to complete me.  It brings in harmony in my painting and creativity and have become very different from each other and yet do not compete.  Peace was born in me and I’m more patient despite they have become two creations that I both happen to love.  I like how some days the fast camera can capture fleeting moments in our daily lives and there are days of contemplation and I paint and paint.

I’ve noticed a distinct style with my attraction to symmetry, geometric perspective, and minimalistic approach in my work especially in urban and street photography.  I think of it as my silent wishes as I feel like I’m always chasing the day.  IMG_3698ws.jpg

Being very observant since I was a little girl, the youngest of the eight, I spent my whole life watching and studying the different characters of my siblings.  I rarely spoke what I thought and my head became a bank of memories, questions, and confusions. My creations are fueled by memories and lead to me a place where I found inner peace.  Photography awakened all my senses and makes my life even more meaningful!

About the post

Fine Art

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this web site on regular basis to get updated from most up-to-date information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

